Republicans win three 35th District races


November 17, 2022

Courtesy photo

From left, Republicans Dan Griffey, Drew MacEwen and Travis Couture will represent the 35th Legislative District.

Three Republicans will represent the 35th District in the state Legislature.

The ballot count from the Nov. 8 general election released Monday gave Republican Drew MacEwen a lead over Democrat Julianne Gale in Mason County for a four-year term as state senator, with the Union resident in Mason County receiving 16,492 votes for 57.03%, and Gale receiving 12,383 votes for 42.82%. Districtwide, MacEwen had 37,600 votes for 55.67%, and Gale 29,876 votes for 44.24%.

In Mason County, Republican Travis Couture garnered 15,451 votes for 53.85%, and Democrat Sandy Kaiser 13,220 votes for 46.07% to replace MacEwen at Position 2 in the state House of Representatives. Throughout the 35th District, Couture had 35,370 votes for 52.63% and Kaiser 31,794 votes for 47.31%.

In the contest for Position 1 representing the 35th District, incumbent Republican Dan Griffey of Allyn in the Mason County ballot count had 17,247 votes for 59.73%, and Democrat James DeHart 11,567 votes for 40.06%. Districtwide, Griffey had 39,516 votes for 58.61% and DeHart 27,829 votes for 41.27%

1 '23 Digital Subscription Special - Shelton-Mason County Journal

The results are scheduled to be certified Nov. 29.

Author Bio

Gordon Weeks, Reporter

Shelton-Mason County Journal & Belfair Herald
[email protected]


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2022