Shelton-Mason County Journal - Dedicated to the citizens of Mason County, Washington since 1886

Four sworn in to council

Onisko chosen as Shelton's newest mayor


January 6, 2022

Gordon Weeks

On Tuesday evening, City Clerk Donna Nault swears in new and returning Shelton City Council members, from left, Eric Onisko, Miguel Gutierrez, Joe Schmit and Sharon Schirman in the Shelton Civic Center before the start of the regular meeting. Onisko was selected as the new mayor.

On Tuesday evening, four members of the Shelton City Council were sworn in for new terms.

Eric Onisko and Joe Schmit are beginning their second four-year terms. Onisko ran unopposed as council member No. 4 in the Nov. 2 general election, while Schmit defeated Tyler "Mad Dog" Elliott to return as member No. 6.

Onisko owns two local gas stations and serves on the emergency food and shelter committee, the emergency planning committee, and the Mason County Housing and Behavioral Health Advisory Board. He is also chairman of the city's Shelton Metropolitan Park District.

Schmit, the technical se...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023

Rendered 06/01/2023 22:55